To Don the Wolf’s Skin in the “The Saga of the Volsungs”

When I was just a young boy, I dreamt about wolves almost every night. One dream, in particular, reminded me of the scene in “The Saga of the Volsungs” where King Volsung’s sons were killed one by one by a she-wolf. In my dream, I found myself held captive in a hole in the ground and a wolf kept guard so that I could not escape. This dream had different versions, some ending where the wolf devoured me while my family watched paralyzed with fear. Yet somehow, I became fascinated with wolves for a great part of my life. Somewhere, however, I was falsley taught at an early age, wolves are fowl evil creatures. One at a time, King Volsung’s sons were bitten to death, and Sigmund, the remaining son, with a mouth laced with honey, killed the she-wolf by grabbing hold of her tongue until she died. This wolf, thought to be King Siggeir’s mother in disguise, seems to play a significant part in the moral decay (possibly a motif) that exists in this saga. The heroes in these stories, mostly descendants of Volsungs, seem to be just as murderous as the outlaws they call “Vargr (wolf or monster)” (112). Signy, King Volsung’s daughter, had her own brothers sentenced to a horrible death, and asked the surviving brother to kill her own sons. This brother, Sigmund, becomes a hero in the book, a hero that “surpassed most other men,” a typical description for heroes in this saga that gain valor through bloodshed. Perhaps the she-wolf is no different than characters in this story that kill children and murder kingdoms for glory. “Sigmund asked his sister to come out and receive from him esteem and great honor,” despite the fact she had her own children killed when they were “too slow in avenging” the death of King Volsung, their grandfather. She, like the wolf, held no qualms when it came to killing the sons of a king. Why is it then, the wolf earned such a bad reputation in this blood filled story? Sinfjotli, Sigmund’s nephew, the surviving son of his sister who had her own son’s murdered, was insulted by King Granmar for his murderous ways: “more likely it is you who nourished yourself in the blood of wolves out in the forest and killed your own brothers.” “I sired nine wolves on you at Laganess, and I was the father of them all,” Sinfjotli returned. “You are the stepson of King Siggeir,” Granmar said, “and you lie in the woods with wolves… You killed your brothers and made for an evil reputation” (9). For a moment, in this murderous saga, the heroes and the monsters share the same skin. Sigmund and Sinfjotli are cursed to wear wolf skins and hunted men as “they howled like wolves” (8). Sigurd, son of Sigmund, who slayed Fafnir the Dragon and ate his heart, was likened to a wolf by a bird that spoke to him after he gained magical powers from eating the heart: “I suspect a wolf where I see a wolf’s ears” (20) the bird said. The wolf presence in the saga continued as Sigurd’s wife, Gudrun, herself dreamt of wolves: “Then you gave me a wolf’s cub. It spattered me with the blood of my brothers” (27). The roles of man and the she-wolf reversed as Sigurd is later fed “wolf’s carrion” and the wolf’s “flesh mixed with ale” (32). After Sigurd’s death, Gudrun flees to the forest: “All about her she heard the cry of wolves, and she thought it would be more agreeable to die than to live” (34). The story becomes more gruesome as Gudrun avenges the death of her brothers, as foretold in her dream, by killing “the sons she had by King Atli, her second husband. The murderous rampage continues, and the wolf bares the brunt of ancient legends. This beautiful creature becomes a specter who haunts us in our dreams, and men become heroes—though only one gains glory for his murderous ways. The other walks in the forest, falsely adorned with mankind’s sin. This seems to be a pattern for medieval literature; mankind’s fails to take responsibility and their guilt escapes on the pages of literature.  The wolf still runs in the forests of our nightmares.

4 thoughts on “To Don the Wolf’s Skin in the “The Saga of the Volsungs”

  1. Will,

    I enjoyed this piece a great deal and admired the way that you were able to weave together the various accounts of wolves in The Saga of the Volshungs. (Wolves have always been my favorite animals of the wild (and, ever since I can remember, my closest friends have called me ‘WAREwolf”.)

    I was also interested in your treatment of the heroes in this saga, as, it hearkens back to a point I was trying to articulate in class: The heroes in the story are execrably violent and commit monstrous acts very dissimilar to the deeds of modern heroes. It is almost hard for me to call them heroes, though, I realize I need to keep myself in check and step out of my culturally-constructed notion of what is a hero. Nonetheless, I kept hoping for some sort of redemption for the evil deeds committed by various characters of the saga — but I was left wanting (with the exception of Sigmund refusing to kill Signy’s children, yet, even this doesn’t really make up for his other actions).

    Great work, here.

    • Hi Ryan,
      I never would have made that connection, so I’ll try not to call you the “WAREwolf if i can help it. When we think of men as the true monsters, it makes me wonder how these wrongfully portrayed animals see us. Perhaps they see us as we truly are. Dogs, for example, have ways of telling if people are good or bad. “The Saga of the Volsungs,” seems to do this work. Maybe the point of this story is we all have a little bit of good and bad in us, though most of us are able to regulate our badness.

  2. “This beautiful creature becomes a specter who haunts us in our dreams, and men become heroes—though only one gains glory for his murderous ways.” Your exploration of wolves and the idea that their violence reflects human guilt is fascinating. It reminds me of how vampire lore was created b/c humans didn’t want to believe another human could do such terrible acts. However, instead of creating a new creature they displace blame and guilt on animals that actually roam the land.

  3. Good point, I love a good vampire movie, but I think your right about displacing blame. This idea works fro Grendel too, a creature of unreality, but with real implications. Literature does seem to divert the truth of what man is capable of. And we claim to be the superior species. It seems odd we accept violence in movies, something we would never imagine in real life.

Leave a comment